RICH IN LONGEVITY

[6 powerful health tips]

CONTEXT

Peter Attia, MD is one of the leading experts on longevity.

He recently published the book Outlive (an instant #1 New York Times bestseller).

I love that he defines longevity as both lifespan (the number of years you live) and healthspan (your quality of life).

Personally, I don’t just want to live until I’m 100. I also want a great quality of life at age 100.

I joke that when I go to the gym, I’m not working on my summer body. I’m working on my “old lady” body. Dense bones. Strong muscles. Stable balance. A healthy heart. Functional independence in 50+ years.

Here are Attia’s 6 best tips for longevity:

THE METHOD

1. Build a “longevity mindset”

Surprising one to start with, right? I like to keep you on your toes. 😉

Having a sense of purpose (and a clear connection to others) will keep you motivated to maintain your health.

*Btw— there was a very cool study done on the 5 cities with the highest concentration of healthy people over 100. Some of the locations included Icaria (Greece), Sardinia (Italy), and Okinawa (Japan).

What’s their secret to living past 100?? One of the findings is that these small communities have deep social ties.

2. Move your body regularly (shocking, I know 😂)

Exercise (and maintaining muscle) is the most important thing you can do for a long and healthy life.

Aim for at least 30 minutes of moderate-intensity exercise most days of the week.

Even if it’s just a brisk walk. That counts.

I have a little hack to make this easier. I’ll start a really good audiobook or podcast (like this Tim Ferriss interview with Jamie Foxx. It’s SO GOOD). Or maybe you’re like Arianna Huffington and start watching a show. She loves Bridgerton.

But we’ll only let ourselves listen to it or watch it while working out (walking, cycling, or at the gym). It gets me outside every day. And I always have the next one lined up.

3. Eat a nutrient-rich diet

The food you eat today determines your health in 5 years. Those eating habits impact your cholesterol, blood sugar, body inflammation, and brain health.

Focus on whole foods like lean protein, whole grains, vegetables, and fruits. Avoid processed foods, refined sugar, and alcohol.

Here’s my rule of thumb: Eat food that doesn’t have a marketing team. 😂

4. Get enough sleep

Most adults need 7-8 hours a night to properly repair the body and brain.

My #1 tip for falling asleep? No caffeine 10 hours before bedtime.

I also love the 3-2-1 Method:

  • No food/alcohol 3 hours before bed.

  • No work 2 hours before bed.

  • No screens 1 hour before bed.

Btw— I wrote out my full sleep toolkit in this LinkedIn post.

5. Get regular screenings

This is critical for catching any health problems early on.

You know this.

Our healthcare technology continues to get more and more advanced… But even the best tech is useless if you forget to schedule your annual check-ups.

6. Manage stress

It’s no surprise that increased cortisol (stress) levels take a big toll on our body.

Not sure where to start?

  • Talk to an executive coach or therapist

  • Try NSDR or guided meditations. (Y’all know I love this one on YouTube)

  • Get closer to nature this weekend

  • Prioritize time with loved ones

CLOSING THOUGHTS

It’s important to challenge conventional medical thinking on aging.

Keep it simple with the four pillars of longevity: Exercise, nutrition, sleep, and emotional health.

You need to optimize all four to increase your chances of a long (and healthy) life.

(To dive deeper, check out Attia’s book, Outlive. If you don’t have time for a whole book, I loved this 1-hour podcast where Attia summarizes all the most important points from it!)

Until next week,

Jade

P.S. Congrats to everyone who joined Archimedes last week! For those who don’t know, I launched a members-only community with Ben Meer and Colby Kultgen. We teach you how to grow your personal brand online. That’s how you’ll get more clients for your business, get paid to speak on stages, get sponsored by companies you love, create online courses, etc.

Last week, one of our members landed his easiest $2,500 coaching client ever. He literally exchanged 2 messages on LinkedIn, thanks to our strategy. Learn more at JoinArchimedes.com. (There are only a few spots left before we’re at capacity!)